How to Read the Ingredient List for Gluten

gluten-free label

Wheat – Rye – Barley – Gluten – Oats

If you see any of the words above on the ingredient list or CONTAINS statement, the product is NOT OK.

Fast Factsgluten-free label

  • As of August 2012, food manufacturers must declare gluten sources in the ingredient statement
  • Gluten-containing ingredients must be listed in either the Ingredient list OR the CONTAINS statement
  • Avoid packaged foods with no ingredient listing
  • Oats are safe to eat only when they are listed as “gluten-free oats”

Where to look:

Step 1: Find the ingredient label on the package

Step 2: Look for a CONTAINS or MAY CONTAIN statement (at the bottom of the ingredient list)

If you see a CONTAINS statement:

  • PRODUCT IS NOT OK: If you see wheat, rye, barley, oats or gluten listed
  • PRODUCT IS OK: If the CONTAINS statement does NOT include a gluten ingredient
  • If there is a CONTAINS statement, you can stop reading now. If not, look for a MAY CONTAIN statement.

If you see a MAY CONTAIN statement:

  • PRODUCT IS NOT OK: If you see wheat, rye, barley, oats or gluten listed
  • If MAY CONTAIN statement does not include a gluten ingredient, then go to Step 3

Step 3: If there is no CONTAINS statement, read the ingredient list:

  • PRODUCT IS NOT OK: If you see wheat, rye, barley, oats or gluten listed
  • Product IS OK: If you do not see any gluten containing ingredients

CCA 2017 National Survey

cca logo

cca logoThe Canadian Celiac Association is the national voice for all Canadians adversely affected by gluten. To make sure we are working on your behalf as best we can, we are planning to review of our priorities and the support, awareness and advocacy work we do.

You are a valuable member of our online community, and we would greatly appreciate it if you could take around ten minutes and complete a short survey to help us as we move forward. We’d request your input no later than March 18.

All Canadians with a “gluten problem” are invited to participate. All opinions are welcome.

Link to the survey:

Thank you very much for adding your voice. We actively use feedback to improve our organisation and provide the gluten-free community with the best possible service. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at [email protected]

Mark Johnson
Board of Directors
Canadian Celiac Associatio

“Strategies for Eating Out” – Gluten-Free Wellness Group Meets February 22nd

selena-de-vriesWednesday night, February 22, 2017 our Kelowna Celiac and Gluten Intolerant Wellness Group with Registered Dietitian, Selena De Vries meets.

The topic: “Strategies for eating out”

When: 7 – 8 pm

Where: Orthoquest Kelowna Kinesiology at 1021 Richter Street, Kelowna, BC

Cost: Free to CCA members, $2 donation for non-members.

Wellness Meetings are held in the months of January, February, March, April, May, October and November.

Contact Selena at 778-990-6047 for more information.

No Need to Fear Modified Starches

corn starch mixed with water

corn starch mixed with waterIn the past, people eating gluten free were advised to avoid modified starch, not because of the “modified” but because of the “starch”. Starch is made from grains and although it doesn’t directly contain gluten, the starch and the proteins, including gluten, are mixed together on the inside of the kernel, the endosperm. When the type of starch was not identified on the ingredient list, it could be wheat starch. Unfortunately, many people focused on the wrong word, so when the rules changed and gluten-containing starches were required to be identified (wheat starch or modified wheat starch) people still worried about the word “modified”.

So that you can finally put that fear to rest, here is an exNo Needplanation of how and why starches are modified.

Natural starches can are made from many grains and vegetables, but the pastes and gels that are created are often too gummy to be used in commercial food processing, so their properties are modified for high or low temperatures, high and low pH (acids), and extensive mixing. Different techniques are used for the four biggest uses in food production: binding, thickening, forming a film, and tenderising.

For example, if you are making pudding, you need a different type of starch for a cooked pudding than you need for an instant pudding. Pregelatinized starch can be used to thickening products without heat. It is made by cooking the starch, drying it, and then grinding it to a powder or making flakes to mix with the rest of the ingredients. The properties of this type of modified starch can be changed based on the length of cooking time, the temperature used to dry the starch and the size of the ground fragments. Modified starches treated with phosphate absorb water so that when you are defrosting a frozen dinner, it doesn’t fall apart as it warms. When you are making candy, treating the starch with acid leads to the shell on the outside of the jelly bean. There are ways to process starch to meet almost any use in food production.

The important thing to remember is that none of the processing methods include gluten grains. If it doesn’t say modified wheat starch, you can stop worrying.

Kelowna Celiac Welcomes Patsy Pie


Kelowna Celiac is pleased to announce a new sponsor: Patsy Pie

patsy-pie-cookiesInspired by old family recipes in 2001 Patsy Pie founder Pat Libling created a range of traditional all-butter cookies using alternative flours and without adding starchy fillers that the commercial gluten-free bakeries tended to use.   The cookies were so good that everybody just loved them – Patsy Pie was born.  Passion for great tasting products has been the driver of this Lachine Quebec company. Patsy Pie is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Program.

Their products include:

  • Organic Chocolate Cantuccini – Mini Chocolate Biscotti
  • Organic Double Chocolate Quinoa Cookies
  • Organic Choco-Orange Quinoa Cookies
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Peanut Butter Cookies
  • Snappy Ginger Cookies
  • Lemon Shortbread
  • Cranberry Orange Biscotti
  • Almond Biscotti
  • Candy Cookie with M&M’S®
  • White Chocolate & Macadamia Nut Cookie
  • Double Chocolate Cookie
  • Double Chocolate Brownie
  • Double Chocolate Cookies
  • White Chocolate & Macadamia Nut Cookies
  • Double Chocolate Brownie 14 ct
  • Mini Double Chocolate Brownie

See photos and the ingredients in their yummy gluten-free products at their website.  You can also purchase their products online!


Gluten-Free Minestrone Soup


minestrone-soupSoups and chilis are great ways to add beans to your diet, especially on chilly winter days. When you have the time, cook your own beans (can be done a day or two ahead) and use in place of canned.


  • 4 cups water or broth
  • 8 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped cabbage (or 1 cup diced potatoes)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • ½ tsp dried parsley
  • ¼ tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Pinch of celery seed
  • 1 cup any shape dry rice gf pasta
  • 15 ounce can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup water


  1. Combine water, tomato sauce, carrots, cabbage, onion, celery and seasonings in a large
    soup pot.
  2. Cook until vegetables are tender (20 – 30 minutes).
  3. Cook pasta separately according to package directions. Drain and add to soup pot.
  4. Add kidney beans 10 minutes before serving.
  5. Thicken the soup by adding a roux of 2 Tbs cornstarch mixed with ¼ cup water. Bring to a boil and cook 1 minute more.

Makes about 8 cups.

Hidden Sources of Gluten

magnifying glass

magnifying glassWhen you first start the gluten-free diet, it may seem like there’s not much left you can eat. While there is a large part of processed foods you can’t eat anymore, there are still a lot of amazing options available — both naturally gluten-free and otherwise.

There is a huge importance when you’re on a strict gluten-free diet to read and re-read labels on everything food related for your safety. Many times we forget about the products that maybe we’re not eating, but could be indirectly contaminating ourselves with gluten. There are also products that are typically contaminated without much thought and even beauty products could be the reason why you’re still feeling ill.

If you think you’re on a strict gluten-free diet, but you’re still not feeling well or blood tests still show reactions you may be contaminating yourself without really realising it. There are some common hidden sources of gluten that you may want to check into as the first possible reason you’re not feeling well even though you’re eating gluten-free.


It’s one of those makeup products that is likely going to end up in your mouth at some point. Licking your lips and eating will transfer the lipstick ingredients into your digestive system and one of those ingredients could be gluten (typically wheat or barley). You need to be sure to check the ingredients on the package and know those tricky scientific names for gluten.


Typically those commercial glue sticks are going to be fine, but when it comes to household glue products, you need to be careful. While most envelope glues are derived from corn, they do have the potential to contain wheat (and they don’t come with an ingredients list) as does wallpaper glue and gluten can even be found in tile grout. While you’re likely not going to eat these products, they can be inhaled or ingested in a secondary way.

Hand lotion

If you have an insensitivity to gluten when ingested and not just topically, you may be able to get away with this product, but be wary. Hand lotions can contain a lot of ingredients and one often found is wheat—making it unsafe for those with celiac disease or gluten allergy.

Vegan meat substitutes

If you’re looking to go vegetarian, many of the meat substitutes that are soy-based also contain gluten. You need to make sure that you’re  reading the labels and checking if it’s safe for you to eat — being free from one ingredient doesn’t mean it’s safe for everyone.

French fries

If you’re a big fan of French fries, you’ll want to make sure you’re eating safely! There are a lot of fries that contain a gluten-based light reading to give them an extra crisp when they’re fried up. Also, if you’re getting your fries from a restaurant, you will want to make sure they’re not fried in the same oil as other glutencontaining products like onion rings because your food will be cross-contaminated.


While potato chips are made from — well, potato — the seasoning is not all the same so you need to be extra careful. Some flavourings contain gluten in their ingredients and others may not. Another word of caution — just because one brand of chips doesn’t contain gluten, doesn’t mean any brand of the same flavour is safe so read those labels!

Your peanut butter jar

While typically peanut butter is gluten-free, there is a huge risk of gluten contamination with your peanut butter jar. If you’re making a sandwich with peanut butter and using gluten bread, then placing the knife right back in the container — you’ve just put gluten into all of the peanut butter. You need to make sure that you’re being safe, so always have separate containers!

Items labelled “wheat free”

If something is labelled wheat-free you may assume you’re safe to eat it on a gluten-free diet, but that’s risky business. Wheat free and gluten free are two different things because a product could be wheat free but contain barley, rye, or oats making it unsafe for those on a
gluten-free diet.

Processed meats

If your family is a fan of pre-shaped, frozen burgers, hot dogs or deli meat you need be extra careful to check the ingredients. Many use
wheat crumbs or simply list “filler” in their list which could be wheat flour or barley. There are a lot more products being put on the shelves that contain no fillers and are labelled to be gluten free so keep your eyes out for those.

Chapter Sponsor Profile – Idaho’s Namaste Foods

Daphne Marks Taylor

By Daphne Taylor, owner of Namaste Foods

Daphne Marks TaylorNamaste Foods is a family-owned and women-operated maker of exceptionally tasty food that is better for you than the run-of-the mill choices on most grocery store shelves. We’ve been in business since the year 2000 making outrageously delicious food that everyone in your family can enjoy, including those with food allergies. We care deeply about the quality of the food we eat and we know you do, too.

Our approach has always been very “grassroots” in nature. When we first started, we didn’t have the money to hire advertising firms, public relations people and expensive brokers like everyone else did. So we just started reaching out to people. We delivered Namaste Foods products to a handful of local natural foods stores and contacted support groups. We offered free samples for people to try and as it so happens, people loved our food! (Well, we knew THAT would happen!) Word spread and we started hearing from people all over the country, people who wanted Namaste Foods. And a company was born…

Today, we still don’t do things the ‘big guys’ do (because that ends up costing YOU more) and we rely heavily on what got us to where we are today, good ‘ol word-of-mouth advertising. It’s the biggest compliment anyone can give us and we appreciate it more than you know.

In return for your patronage and your loyalty, we work extra hard to be a better company than most and make better products for you and your family. Here are some of the ways we do that:

Nameste Perfect Flour-BlendWorry-free products – Unlike many manufacturers, our facility is owned by us. We don’t contract with another company to make our products because we care more than they do. It’s only natural. As the saying goes, ‘if you want it done right, you have to do it yourself.’ And that’s what we do. Also, our dedicated facility is free from the Top Food Allergens making it the safest environment for people challenged by food allergies and sensitivities. And, it is certified Gluten Free, Kosher and USDA Organic among other things, too.

Why go through all this trouble? It’s simple. We care.

A better value – We know that eating healthier can be more expensive and that just doesn’t seem right. That’s why we continually strive to give you more for your hard earned dollar. Take our cake mixes for example, they make a TWO layer cake as opposed to one. And for about the same price as other companies who just give you a one-layer cake. (Who ever heard of a one-layer birthday cake anyway?!)

You deserve the best – in customer service. So, we invite and welcome your questions and comments about anything that is important to you. If you contact us, we promise to get back to you promptly and offer you outstanding customer service. In addition, your suggestions for new products are always welcome so we know what to be working on next!

Truly delicious food! – That goes without saying yet bears repeating. We work diligently to try to offer you products that make your mouth water and your face smile! We truly believe Namaste Foods products to be heads and shoulders above the rest in taste and texture – because you’ve told us so!

Namaste-LogoMany people ask us what the term “Namaste” means. We will do our best to explain it here.

The word “Namaste” (pronounced “Naa-Maa-Stay”) is an ancient Sanskrit word with no literal translation. After many hours reviewing all the different translations, we decided we like this one the best.

“The Spirit within me honors and respects the Spirit within you.”

The word ‘Spirit’ in this context has no particular religious connotation. You could substitute the word ‘Heart’ or ‘Soul’ if you like. The essence of the phrase is simply that the best part of me wishes you well – in every way. In seeking to offer you healthier and delicious foods, we nourish the body. In nourishing the body, we hope to help nourish the mind and the spirit. So you can enjoy life just a little bit more.

From all of us here to each and every one of you,


Daphne Taylor CEO and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer

PS: Please take a moment to check out our website at and our recipe section and discover yummy new ways to use our products. Then, find a store near you in our store locator and give us a try. If your local store isn’t listed, please do go in and ask for us by name. Then e-mail or call us with their information. We will follow up with them and in the vast majority of cases, get our products in there lickity split!

Last Minute Gluten-Free Treat Ideas

As we get into the final countdown, you might find that you need a quick and simple cookie recipe for last minute guests or to make sure you have something tasty at yet another Christmas open house. Here are a few really quick recipes to consider.

  • Coconut cookies (coconut, GF oats, bananas) If you make these, be sure to use pure uncontaminated or GFCP certified oats. If you prefer not to use oats, here’s 2-ingredient option made with just coconut and bananas.
  • Flourless peanut butter cookies These taste great with chocolate chips or raisins added. I’ve also seen them baked with a Hershey’s kiss stuck on top.
  • Butter Cookies These work well with PC Gluten Free flour mix, and should work well with any all purpose GF flour mix that contains xanthan gum.
  • Colourful meringue cookies The base recipe for these cookies have only 3 ingredients. Use flavour, colouring and extras if you wish. Crushed candy canes or red and white mints make this especially festive.

If you are missing the bark recipes build on a cracker crust, here are some decadent bark options that don’t need a base crust at all.

Don’t let the inability to eat the food the host is serving keep you from all the holiday parties you are invited to. You need a social life, just like people who don’t have celiac disease. Bring a container of goodies that you keep for yourself, and if you want, bring a separate platter to share. That way you don’t have to worry about accidental contamination.

The first time you do this, you will probably feel like everyone is watching you. In most cases, they aren’t, and even if they are, you are simply keeping yourself healthy so you can enjoy the holidays.

Kelowna Celiac Welcomes NuPasta

nuPasta Organic Spaghetti

Kelowna Celiac is pleased to announce a new sponsor: NuPasta

NuPasta is a gluten-free, low calorie, and high fiber pasta available as spaghetti, fettuccine, and angel hair in organic and non-organic packages.

nuPasta Organic SpaghettiHow does it differ from regular pasta?  According to NuPasta, a full plate (210g) of regular cooked pasta contains about 300 calories and 2g of dietary fibre, the same amount of NuPasta contains 25 calories and 6g of dietary fibre.

NuPasta is made with the root of the konjac plant which is rich in dietary fibre and has no starch. The absence of starch is the reason why NuPasta is so low in calories.

What is Konjac? According to NuPasta the konjac plant (Amorphophallus konjac) grows on slopes 2000 to 4000 feet above sea level, where it enjoys the habitat’s clean air and water. Today, konjac plants are grown in Japan, Korea, and China. The edible part of the konjac plant is the root which resembles an oval shaped taro or yam potato.

Where is NuPasta Available?


  • Nester’s Market
  • L & D Meats & Delis
  • Quality Greens Farm Market
  • Nature’s Fare Market
  • Market Place IGA
  • Helmut’s Sausage Kitchen
  • Quality Greens Farm Market (Westbank)
  • IGA (lake Country)


  • Nature’s Fare Market
  • Buy Low Foods
  • Quality Greens Farm Market
  • Butcher Boys Food Store


  • Quality Greens Farm Market
  • IGA
  • Nature’s Fare Market


  • IGA

Contact Irene Wiseman if you’d like to become a chapter sponsor too!