Not all flavours of Better than Bouillon are gluten free

Courtesy Ellen Bayens, The Celiac Scene via Facebook

Better than Bouillon used to be the go-to stock starter for celiacs but no longer.

I was conducting a Gluten-Free Store tour at Planet Organic here in Victoria, BC when I made my usual stop in front of the Better Than Bouillon (BTB) shelf. I recommend their concentrated stocks as a premium base because they contain no fat, and because they are gluten free – or used to be! Over the past year, the ‘gluten-free’ label no longer appeared on their labels but were reassured about BTB’s gluten-free status on their website. We understood that only the low-sodium flavour contained gluten. However, yesterday, we noticed that at least two of their other flavours now list malt barley on their labels.

A quick peek at BTB’s FAQs revealed, “We don’t test our finished products for gluten; therefore, we do not make any claims or representations regarding gluten. However, we understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help plan their meals and diets. Therefore, we list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statements of our products. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye).”

Another reminder to Celiacs, check labels, every time.

About David Fowler

David Fowler is an online marketing consultant specializing in AdWords PPC, SEO, and website updates. He is the webmaster of Kelowna Celiac and was co-chair of the Kelowna 2012 CCA National Conference in Kelowna.