Is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free?

From the From the CCA Pocket Dictionary CCA’s Pocket Dictionary, Acceptability of Foods & Food Ingredients for the Gluten-Free Diet
$6.95 members / $9.95 non-members, reduced prices for more than 10 copies


When it comes to this popular savoury sauce, you should always check the label for barley, which of course always contains gluten. Worcestershire also may contain malt vinegar, which is not gluten-free and is not allowed on a gluten-free diet. However, some brands are free of malt vinegar and are gluten-free. For example, Heinz Worcestershire is safe, but Lee & Perrins brand is not.

Check the label every time you buy, since a company can change its product’s ingredients without warning.

Another ingredient you might see included in this sauce is buckwheat. From the name, you might think it’s a no-no. However, it doesn’t actually contain wheat so it’s fine for your gluten-free diet. It’s a starchy seed of the plant family Polygonaceae, which includes rhubarb.

About David Fowler

David Fowler is an online marketing consultant specializing in AdWords PPC, SEO, and website updates. He is the webmaster of Kelowna Celiac and was co-chair of the Kelowna 2012 CCA National Conference in Kelowna.

2 thoughts on “Is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free?

  1. Are you sure that the Heinz is safe and Lea & Perrin’s isn’t? I’ve heard the opposite, IIRC Lea & Perrin’s is now labeled as GF. The heinz one apparently no longer contains soy sauce with wheat but it does list “natural flavors.”

  2. Hi! I haven’t personally checked the label of Heinz or Lea & Perrin lately to know if this is still the case from this August article. The CCA is always telling us “always read the label” and I think this is a good example of what good advice that is. Ingredients can change at any time, and we can’t be complacent not check every time.

Comments are closed.