When you first start the gluten-free diet, it may seem like there’s not much left you can eat. While there is a large part of processed foods you can’t eat anymore, there are still a lot of amazing options available — both naturally gluten-free and otherwise.
There is a huge importance when you’re on a strict gluten-free diet to read and re-read labels on everything food related for your safety. Many times we forget about the products that maybe we’re not eating, but could be indirectly contaminating ourselves with gluten. There are also products that are typically contaminated without much thought and even beauty products could be the reason why you’re still feeling ill.
If you think you’re on a strict gluten-free diet, but you’re still not feeling well or blood tests still show reactions you may be contaminating yourself without really realising it. There are some common hidden sources of gluten that you may want to check into as the first possible reason you’re not feeling well even though you’re eating gluten-free.
It’s one of those makeup products that is likely going to end up in your mouth at some point. Licking your lips and eating will transfer the lipstick ingredients into your digestive system and one of those ingredients could be gluten (typically wheat or barley). You need to be sure to check the ingredients on the package and know those tricky scientific names for gluten.
Typically those commercial glue sticks are going to be fine, but when it comes to household glue products, you need to be careful. While most envelope glues are derived from corn, they do have the potential to contain wheat (and they don’t come with an ingredients list) as does wallpaper glue and gluten can even be found in tile grout. While you’re likely not going to eat these products, they can be inhaled or ingested in a secondary way.
If you have an insensitivity to gluten when ingested and not just topically, you may be able to get away with this product, but be wary. Hand lotions can contain a lot of ingredients and one often found is wheat—making it unsafe for those with celiac disease or gluten allergy.
Vegan meat substitutes
If you’re looking to go vegetarian, many of the meat substitutes that are soy-based also contain gluten. You need to make sure that you’re reading the labels and checking if it’s safe for you to eat — being free from one ingredient doesn’t mean it’s safe for everyone.
If you’re a big fan of French fries, you’ll want to make sure you’re eating safely! There are a lot of fries that contain a gluten-based light reading to give them an extra crisp when they’re fried up. Also, if you’re getting your fries from a restaurant, you will want to make sure they’re not fried in the same oil as other glutencontaining products like onion rings because your food will be cross-contaminated.
While potato chips are made from — well, potato — the seasoning is not all the same so you need to be extra careful. Some flavourings contain gluten in their ingredients and others may not. Another word of caution — just because one brand of chips doesn’t contain gluten, doesn’t mean any brand of the same flavour is safe so read those labels!
Your peanut butter jar
While typically peanut butter is gluten-free, there is a huge risk of gluten contamination with your peanut butter jar. If you’re making a sandwich with peanut butter and using gluten bread, then placing the knife right back in the container — you’ve just put gluten into all of the peanut butter. You need to make sure that you’re being safe, so always have separate containers!
Items labelled “wheat free”
If something is labelled wheat-free you may assume you’re safe to eat it on a gluten-free diet, but that’s risky business. Wheat free and gluten free are two different things because a product could be wheat free but contain barley, rye, or oats making it unsafe for those on a
If your family is a fan of pre-shaped, frozen burgers, hot dogs or deli meat you need be extra careful to check the ingredients. Many use
wheat crumbs or simply list “filler” in their list which could be wheat flour or barley. There are a lot more products being put on the shelves that contain no fillers and are labelled to be gluten free so keep your eyes out for those.