Is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free?

From the From the CCA Pocket Dictionary CCA’s Pocket Dictionary, Acceptability of Foods & Food Ingredients for the Gluten-Free Diet
$6.95 members / $9.95 non-members, reduced prices for more than 10 copies

heinz-worcestershire-sauce

When it comes to this popular savoury sauce, you should always check the label for barley, which of course always contains gluten. Worcestershire also may contain malt vinegar, which is not gluten-free and is not allowed on a gluten-free diet. However, some brands are free of malt vinegar and are gluten-free. For example, Heinz Worcestershire is safe, but Lee & Perrins brand is not.

Check the label every time you buy, since a company can change its product’s ingredients without warning.

Another ingredient you might see included in this sauce is buckwheat. From the name, you might think it’s a no-no. However, it doesn’t actually contain wheat so it’s fine for your gluten-free diet. It’s a starchy seed of the plant family Polygonaceae, which includes rhubarb.